Acceptance


I have recently arrived at this place in my life where I no longer give a shit what anyone thinks about me or what I’m doing (said so eloquently, hey?). I wasn’t doing the things I wanted to do or dressing how I wanted to because I was scared of what people would think or I would tell myself “you can do *insert whatever here* when you’ve lost weight” and stuff like that. I actually spent A LOT of time hinging things on my weight loss for this boost of confidence that I would get when I got back to where I used to be. Hell, became better than I used to be. But eff that. Why would I wait to be who I am and do the things I want to do because I’m overweight? That’s a copout coming from a girl who was afraid and needed something, a reason, not to just accept myself and be me. I’m done with it now and I really don’t know what happened to make me change my mind or how I was thinking about things. Also, I don’t really know who I was worried caring about what I like, look like, or what I’m doing. I doubt that anyone would spend that much time thinking about me and if they do…well I guess that’s sad for them.

“You wouldn’t worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt

I am in a good place right now though. I am happy. I have amazing friends and am hoping to volunteer here and there and just really get back to being me. I forgot who that was and I am happy to be rediscovering myself. Embracing who I really am. It’s kind of fun too. 🙂

I could write about this and acceptance for a long time, but short and sweet is all I care to write right now.

Leave a Reply

