Frustrated with Nutrition


I am SO frustrated right now! There is so much – TOO MUCH – information out there about what’s healthy and what isn’t. I find myself getting really confused and feeling lost about how to determine what balance is “correct”. I have read articles that discuss the health benefits of beans, nuts, seeds, raw foods, cooked foods, animal protein, plant protein, etc. etc. etc. I have ALSO read about the health detriments of the same things. It’s so hard to filter through the crap and see what is true.

I will not be strictly plant based but I want to have a lot of fruits, vegetables, and things from the earth in their truest forms. BUT, I also don’t want to be so restricted that my return to chewing food is stressful. I swore to myself that I would never count another calorie, gram of fat, sugar, or carbohydrate again because if I am eating a healthy diet, I really believe that I won’t have to. The problem is – WHAT IS A HEALTHY DIET?! There is way too much information, studies, and “experts” out there.

I know that the standard North American diet is bad. I understand that we should not be eating processed foods filled with refined sugars, etc. I get it, I really do. But when researching raw/vegetarian/paleo, there is so much debate and contradiction on what is healthy and what is not. I know that I will just do what works for me but I’m nervous about doing it “wrong” and having health issues/tons of weight gain/etc. which is the last thing I need.

Sorry for the depressing post, I’m just feeling overwhelmed and stressed out.

5 thoughts on “Frustrated with Nutrition

  1. I think the trick is to find what works for YOUR body and whatever activity you do. Maybe you find that you can’t tolerate a lot of fruit or that it turns out you can eat rice (one of the less volatile grains). I think it’s so great that you want to veer away from counting calories/macros etc, because when you “Just Eat Real Food”, none of that shit matters.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

